February 24, 2024


The value of truth

President’s Impression Awards recognize much-reaching contributions of U of T scientists

5 min read

From informing Ontario’s pandemic reaction to shaping the fields of instruction, social policy, robotics and entrepreneurship, the College of Toronto is recognizing scientists for the effects of their do the job across Canada and outside of.

Amongst the winners of this year’s President’s Effects Awards – which honour specific U of T school users and teams for study that has led to substantial impacts past academia – are 13 leaders of the Ontario COVID-19 Science Advisory Desk.

The group was acknowledged as a workforce for “outstanding contributions and commitment to supporting proof-educated final decision building and response to the COVID-19 pandemic in Ontario and nationally.”

Fahad Razak

Fahad Razak, who served as the Science Table’s scientific director, states he is grateful to be celebrated together with his colleagues, noting that it was only by way of their collective abilities and attempts that the Science Desk was ready to provide transparent scientific investigation and proof-centered, fairness-minded advice in reaction to an ever-shifting disaster.

“I’m really delighted that College of Toronto has identified that substantially of the consequential perform that is completed is not accomplished by men and women – it can be completed by groups,” suggests Razak, an internist and epidemiologist at St. Michael’s Medical center, Unity Well being Toronto and an assistant professor in the section of medication in U of T’s Temerty Faculty of Medicine and at the Dalla Lana College of Community Health’s Institute of Wellbeing Plan, Administration and Evaluation (IHPME).

“That multidisciplinary composition of our table was just one of the vital drivers of achievement of placing out modelling scientific briefs or other recommendations that have been considerate and comprehensive about the effects that could transpire across society.”

The other Science Desk users sharing the honour with Razak are:

  • Peter Jüni, an affiliate scientist at Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, Unity Overall health, who was the table’s scientific director and a professor of medicine and epidemiology in the Temerty School of Medicine and IHPME right before leaving for University of Oxford in 2022.
  • Co-chairs Adalsteinn Brown, dean of the Dalla Lana School of Public Health and fitness, Brian Schwartz, a professor in the office of family members and group medicine in the Temerty Faculty of Drugs, and Upton Allen, the head of infectious diseases at the Medical center for Unwell Little ones and a professor of pediatrics in the Temerty School of Drugs and at IHPME.
  • Assistant scientific administrators Nathan Stall, a physician at Sinai Wellness and an assistant professor in the Temerty College of Drugs, and Karen Born, assistant professor of health and fitness administration at IHPME.
  • Director of communications Robert Steiner, assistant professor and director of the Dalla Lana Fellowship in International Journalism at the Dalla Lana School of General public Wellness.
  • Modelling consensus table co-chairs Beate Sander, a senior scientist at the Toronto Basic Clinic Study Institute, College Overall health Community, and a professor at IHPME, and Kumar Murty, a professor of arithmetic in the School of Arts & Science.
  • Chair of the congregate care environment operating team Paula Rochon, senior scientist at the Women’s Faculty Healthcare facility Study Institute and professor in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine
  • Co-chair of the drugs and biologics medical follow guideline doing work team Andrew Morris, clinical director of the antimicrobial stewardship software at Sinai Wellbeing/College Health Network and professor of medication in the Temerty College of Medicine.
  • Psychological health and fitness operating group chair Linda Mah, a senior clinician scientist at the Rotman Exploration Institute, Baycrest Well being Sciences Centre and an affiliate professor of psychiatry in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine.

The staff joins 4 other U of T researchers identified this calendar year. They are:

Ajay Agrawal, professor of strategic administration and Geoffrey Taber Chair in Entrepreneurship at the Rotman College of Administration. He is regarded for his “application of financial principle to the issue of market failures linked with reworking scientific inventions into scalable businesses that profit culture,” which encouraged the founding of the Artistic Destruction Lab – a design that has been adopted by business colleges all over the environment.



George Dei, professor in the section of social justice training at the Ontario Institute for Reports in Education and learning. Dei was acknowledged for his “influential do the job advancing anti-racism, equity, anti-colonial considered and African Indigeneity in education and sustained influence on guidelines, tactics and advocacy for inclusive education and Black youth’s instructional accomplishment.”



Yu Sunlight, a professor in the division of mechanical and industrial engineering in the Faculty of Used Science & Engineering and founding director of U of T’s Robotics Institute. He is honoured for “outstanding contributions to robotics at micro-nano scales, whose considerably-reaching impacts incorporate transformative infertility treatment plans for patients and elements characterization procedures for market.”



Ito Peng, a professor of sociology in the School of Arts & Science and the Munk Faculty for International Affairs & General public Policy. She is credited for international “social coverage leadership informing national and international plan bodies on issues of gender, the work of care and treatment migration.” Peng, whose skills has been sought out by policymakers throughout the globe, was also named the recipient of the Carolyn Tuohy Effect on General public Plan Award, presented per year to a college member whose scholarship has experienced a substantial impression on community plan as portion of the Awards of Excellence System.

Winners of the President’s Affect Award are designated as members of the President’s Affect Academy, which advocates for sustained excellence in exploration and innovation impression inside and outdoors of the university.

“These awards stand for how U of T’s investigation local community is coming alongside one another tackle some of today’s toughest troubles and earning breakthroughs that end result in real-globe improve,” says Leah Cowen, U of T’s vice-president, investigate and innovation, and strategic initiatives.

“From global problems to micro-scale innovations, this year’s laureates have shown them selves to be visionaries in their respective fields and consummate collaborators – operating with scholars across disciplines and partnering with local community associates, community stakeholders, sector leaders and policymakers to tackle our present challenges and push development towards a brighter upcoming.”


Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.